Thankful Thursday: Quick Reflexes

After having my hubby home for a week, he had to head back out on the road again for work. So bright and early this morning, our whole gang piled into the van to drive him to the ballpark for the last day of the ball series he was working in town. On the way we stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts for a coffee and get the kids on a sugar high (every mother’s dream…lol)

The drive in was a typical rush hour drive with tons of stopping and starting, horns blaring and road raged drivers everywhere. Inside the car things we calm, pleasant and surprisingly calm for my chaotic tribe. I guess the donut sugar didn’t kick in yet…lol

After dropping off the hubby, giving tons of hugs and kisses and wiping away tears we were back on the road again heading home. (It’s only a 40 minute drive each way, but you all know how kids can get when they are in a car too long.) With my son attending the ball game later in the day with other family members, I decided to keep my daughter home from school too (It doesn’t seem quite fair for one to skip school and not the other).

Anyways, we made our way through the congestion down town and back on the highway we went. Everybody was singing happily to the music on the radio, talking in a nice ‘inside voice’ and getting along when all of a sudden, out of NOWHERE comes a deer.

A deer? No big deal. But we were on a main, busy, 4 lane highway! This crazy thing jumped over the guard rail right in front of me, no more than 10 feet away. I felt like everything was in slow motion…it was WEIRD! Something caught me eye to the right and then things seemed to come into focus and that’s when it dawned on me it was a deer (She took her good old time getting over that guardrail. I swear she was laughing at me while she was jumping…lol) Keeping the wheel straight, stepped on the brakes, HARD, held my breath and said a quick prayer ( I may or may not have closed my eyes in the process). Thankfully, I missed the stupid sucker, avoided a huge mess and was able to keep on going. God has us covered with protection INDEED!!!

I do believe the devil was trying to intervene because, I swear, after that moment, the rest of the way home was a circus.

  • my threenager repeatedly kept saying she needed to use the potty and each time it got louder and louder and louder
  • my 8-year-old son kept asking “What did you do?” “What happened?”
  • my 5-year-old daughter started to whine because her bottle of juice (cap on tightly, thankfully) was thrown out of the cup holder and rolling around on the van floor and she needed a drink NOW because she is super thirsty and can’t wait
  • my 2-year-old was crying because I turned the music down
  • the 5 & 8-year-old wouldn’t keep their hands to themselves
  • the 3-year-old kept nagging me to turn a specific song on
  • all 4 kept asking “are we home yet?” “can we stop at _______?”
  • not to mention…”I’m hungry can I have a snack?”

Mind you, from the moment I slammed on the brakes to the moment I pulled back into the driveway was 20ish minutes and it felt like an eternity. I felt shaking, my heart was pounding in my throat, I felt like I was going to throw up and thought to myself “is it too early for an adult beverage?”

Thankfully, I am calmed down, things back to ‘normal’ and my day is back on track. I can’t say that I had that beverage to help things along, but a nice yummy slice of homemade peanut butter cheesecake for lunch may have done the trick…LOL

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: Quick Reflexes

Leave a Reply

