My Oily Life

Almost 2 years ago I got suckered into buying a small starter kit of essential oils. I wasn’t really on board and convinced that they helped promote a healthier life style for my family, but I decided to help my friend with her new business.

Shortly before buying, my 5 week old went into the hospital with a temp over 104• with major congestion, breathing struggles and refusal to breast feed. While there she went through a series of test that scared the S#*T out of me…blood work, urinalysis AND a spinal tap. Needless to say I was scared sick, but of course that time affected me more than her. Diagnosis…upper respiratory infection. After 24 hours at Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh, with top of the line care, my baby was 90% better and on her way home!

With 3 other children at home and 2 of them in school (1st and preschool) it was inevitable that more germs were going to make their way into my home. So that’s when I decided to go ahead and make that jump into using doTERRA Easential Oils in our every day routine and life style. 

To be honest, I wasn’t too sure what the hype was all about. I didn’t see much change, or improvement in things. But it also took me a few weeks to really get used to using them consistently. Then BAM! Once I did start using EO on a regular basis things got so much better…immune systems boosted, behaviors improved, sleep quality better and not to mention the aroma around the house was/is amazing!

I now use oils daily to…

  • clean (surfaces, furniture and air)
  • Promote healthy digestion
  • Care for seasonal threats (allergies) in myself, husband and kids. We actually are off of over the counter meds
  • Boost everyone’s immune systems
  • Promote healthy and stable sleep patterns in my kids and myself 
  • Improve concentration, focus and irritability
  • Promote feelings of peace and relaxation 
  • In my skin and hair products
  • Help relieve aches and pains
  • So much more!!!

Over the past week I have been relying on my oils a lot more than usual to help me get through he never ending days and chaos.

I have been placing 1 drop of lemon in my water daily to help give me a boost, cleanse and detoxify my body. Plus it’s very refreshing.
Yesterday had a TO DO LIST a mile long and I had absolutely NO energy or motivation to complete it. But thanks to this bad boy I was able to get it all, plus some done. Just a drop or two on my wrists, bottoms of my feet and over my heart along with a cup of coffee I was good to go.
Of course after my day of crazy cleaning, all the ups and downs had me a little sore and uncomfortable last night. Once the kiddos were all sound asleep, I treated myself to a nice long hot bath(something I never do). Placed a few drops of Serenity in a cup of Epsom Salt and soaked for about 20 mins to help let all the stress, tension and aches melt away. Afterwards I rubbed Deep Blue (my addiction) on my neck, shoulders and lower back and crawled into bed. I let the coolness envelope me with relaxation and off to sleepy land I went.
I have a spot in my neck that causes havoc on my head and shoulders, so much so that I get a migraine from it. So until I am actually able to get back to the chiropractor, I reach for this saving grace. I personally don’t like the smell, but the relief it gives is a blessing. Past Tense already comes I a convenient roller bottle so I just rub a little on my temples, neck, behind my ears, base of head and sometimes on my sinuses. Along with the Deep Blue, I am able to relax, see straight and function properly to take care of my kids.
 

I grab this blend to help ease the stomach discomforts of those pesky migraines. I also use this to help aid in digestion, relieve heartburn, help comfort my toddlers constipation as well as daily to help promote over all gut health.
This awesome duo is my all time FAVORITE. I use it everyday to help balance all emotions and hormones, keep negativity at bay and gives an overall uplifting sensation. The aroma in itself is a nice light scent. I place equal drops of the two with liquid coconut oil into a roller bottle and rub over my wrists, temples, back of neck, over my heart (on rough days) and bottoms of my feet (before bed).

I reached for these two comforting blends to help ease my nerves today. I had some medical testing done this afternoon that took a bit longer than expected which cause me bit of anxiety. I placed a drop of Peace in my palms and inhaled and then a drop of Elevation and inhaled. The waiting got easier and the test wasn’t so bad. You can bet I will be repeating this process for the next few days until I get the results.

I am quite happy that I reluctantly ordered some oils and have been very thankful for them ever since. Learning about them is an ongoing process and always excited to do so. Interested in learning more or trying some…I would be honored to introduce you to the oily life.

3 thoughts on “My Oily Life

  1. I don’t use essential oils that much, but I hear they’re getting more and more traction as natural aids lately. I may have to check these out. By the way, I don’t know if you do blogging awards, but I just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award. You can check out the details on my blog: https://mommytrainingwheels.wordpress.com/2017/02/09/one-lovely-blog-award/

    Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

