Happy Birthday to Me

Yesterday I celebrated my 39th birthday. It was a nice relaxing day cuddling with my little girls and then dinner out with the whole family.

It was a day like any other day with cooking, cleaning, wiping snotty noses, changing diapers and paying bills. Turning 39 feels no different than 38 or even no different than 30.


Do you remember getting so excited for your birthday being a kid? Was it the excitement of surprise with the gifts we’d get? Was it that turning a year older meant that we actually ‘were’ older and could do big kid/adult things? Did having a birthday meant that you were the center of everyone’s attention for the WHOLE day?  

How the birthday focus changes as we actually do get older and mature each year. It’s not that I am not excited for the gifts or the attention that’s comes with having a birthday, I am just more THANKFUL for another year to be able to celebrate, and receive the gifts and attention. 


Facebook alerted me several times an hour of my birthday wishes, my phone rang more than usual and my text message notifications were going off like crazy yesterday from my friends and family sending me their love. I truly feel blessed to have each and everyone of them in my life. It was a good day. 

38 was a shitty year, so here’s to hoping and praying 39 is much better!

Leave a Reply

